How 10 Minutes of Quiet Can Change Oneself

image (2).jpg

“Do I want to listen to music or do I want to listen to noise?”

I can just sense so much of noise right now. I can feel the jitters caused by cars honking, people fighting. The incessant hullabaloo of everything around. The urgency of getting jobs done, the body being under constant hurry all the time. The panic, the impatience and the racket around the work place. This just does not seem to stop anytime soon. Looks like this racket shall continue and not stop for a very, very long time.

And just then I realise. I am sitting inside my home, quiet and tranquil, with a friendly and a quiet neighbourhood.

I then realise that all that noise is the clutter of my mind.

I don’t know whether its just me, but I feel like as we are growing older, there just seems to be so much noise inside the head. I remember when I was a kid, and I used to love painting. So I would take my drawing book, my colors, sit on the floor and just paint. As simple as that. When someone would ask me what I am doing, I would say “I am painting”. Thats it. I am not painting-and-talking to someone-and- making chai – and thinking about how I should get more focussed at work – and – thinking about why someone said what they said to me and brooding over it. I am just painting. And thats all.

Someone once told me that the complexities of our lives increase as we age, which probably might be true. But then why are we working so hard and trying to get better in our lives then? Aren’t we doing that primarily so that we could hope to lead a more clutter-free life?

It would have been better for me to write a before / after blog post to see how much clutter the mind had before I meditated and how much it helped after meditation. I’ll be honest here, I am just not able to keep a strong schedule of meditating daily. I can workout daily with complete ease, but it takes a lot of hard work to keep a journal of meditating daily. And trust me, I am no expert here because my concentration is usually out of whack. But what I am writing here right now is a result of just ten minutes of meditation, that too after a few hours of preparing the mind to sit at one place for the meditation.

That’s when I think. If a ten minute meditation can make me feel so liberated that I am able to pull off writing this one blog post at one shot without checking my Whatsapp, or Facebook, or Instagram, or even petting my pup , even once, then I can only imagine how much people can do if they manage to meditate on a daily basis, and thus clear out their mind from the clutter of being distracted all the time.

I know this for a fact. Personally I believe I have a lot of energy and enthusiasm for life. I really love taking the effort to do things, all kinds of things. But I am also a very distracted person. I am like what Phoebe, my pup was when she came home for the first time and she was 6 weeks old.  I am like that, with the only difference being that I am 28 years old and nothing as cute compared to her.

I am not saying technology is bad. Nor am I saying that anything is bad. Everything is good and necessary for us to live in this new-age like new-age cool people. All I am saying is that meditating for ten minutes felt good. For a very distracted person like me. And hopefully blogging about it might give me a little more push to try and do that whenever my default state of mind wants to become that tiny Phoebe once again and run after all her toys without knowing which toy she wants at that moment.

Lets hope this shall continue and I manage to keep my focus on to do the things I love to do the most.

And I hope this blog helps you in some way 🙂

Love,

Priya

 

Leave a Reply

